Historic Downtown eNews  |  Archive

Congratulations to the Winners of Bristol's Mayors' Award of Distinction!

May 13, 2015

For the eighth consecutive year, the cities of Bristol Virginia and Bristol Tennessee are jointly honoring individuals and organizations that have exhibited outstanding dedication and service to their communities by bestowing upon them the Mayors’ Award of Distinction.The 2015 Mayors’ Award of Distinction recipients are: local historian, Tim Buchanan; Ginger Griffith Addison, Bristol Road to Recovery for Women volunteer; and the Healing Hands Health Center Executive Staff, which is comprised of Helen Scott, Sarah Phillips and Dr. Dave Arnold.

A specially appointed award panel comprised of community leaders determined the winners. They join an elite roster of 25 other individuals and organizations who have received the award since its inception in 2008.

Sponsored jointly by the mayoral offices of Bristol Virginia and Bristol Tennessee, the awards will be officially presented by Catherine D. Brillhart, Mayor of Bristol, Virginia, Lea Powers, Mayor of Bristol, Tennessee and Gary McGeough, the Chair of this year’s awards panel, at a public ceremony to be held May 11 from 6:30 – 8:30 pm at the Paramount Center for the Arts, Downtown Bristol.

The public is invited to attend the awards ceremony to hear the stories of the winners and discover how they are making a difference in the Bristol community.

Established in 2008, the Mayors’ Award of Distinction annually recognizes up to three individuals or organizations that have demonstrated a single outstanding act or contribution or a series of acts or contributions that have made a significant, lasting impact on the Bristol community through services to the arts, industry, commerce, entertainment, education or the welfare of others. The award can also recognize someone who has achieved regional, national or international recognition, while promoting Bristol in the process.