Historic Downtown eNews  |  Archive

Masterworks of Chamber Music

May 04, 2019 | 7:30 pm
Paramount Bristol
(423) 274-8920 | MAP | WEBSITE

In its final offering of the 2018-19 season, TPCP presents a program featuring compositions of historical importance. Since its first performance in 1843, Schumann’s Piano Quintet has never disappeared from the canon of frequently heard chamber works. Its rare combination of lyricism and angst was a pinnacle of its time. Juxtaposed against this powerful tapestry is the clarity and grace of Mozart’s piano trio in E major, K 542 — one of the first piano trios where the strings are of equal importance to the piano. Topping off this program is J. S. Bach’s Concerto for Oboe d’amore, BWV 1055.

Robert Schumann: Piano Quintet
W. A. Mozart: Piano Trio in EM, K542
J. S. Bach: Concerto for Oboe d’amore in AM BWV 1055

Student tickets are free of charge but must be reserved.